Tell us a little bit about yourself...

I am a 22 year old Powerlifter from the Northwest Suburbs of Chicago. I am currently a student as well as a supervisor at a Coffee Shop, I am also a certified personal trainer. I played baseball my entire life and went to go play college baseball until I tore my shoulder in the fall and needed surgery.

 

What is something about you that we might be surprised to know?
I was an extra in a TV show when I was 18.

 
What inspired you to begin your fitness journey?
I have been lifting on and off since I was 12 but when I came home to have surgery on my shoulder I had gained a lot of fat. I was in a bad place because of everything so fitness became a new hobby and something that always gave me happiness. When I first started my goal was to feel healthier, shed some fat.
 
 
Has your motivation changed? If so, what continues to motivate you to move forward?
Since then I have really become more and more interested in the strength aspect, I always love to compete so powerlifting gives me the opportunity to compete with myself everyday as well as compete with others.
 
 

What is the best thing that has happened to you as a result of prioritizing your health?
Other than all the knowledge I have gained since, the best thing are the relationships I have made. Surrounding yourself with like minded people gives me the motivation to continue to grow inside and outside of the gym.

 

If you could tell your younger self one thing, what would it be?
Be patient and stop thinking about what others think of you. Be yourself.

 

How do you fit exercise into your schedule?
Right now I am trying to gain as much knowledge as possible and hope one day it will be part of my full time career. I work mornings so I usually am up by 3-4am during the week, as well have school and other obligations but I make sure to get in the gym 4x a week right after my shift at work. Doing something I love makes it easy to fit in my schedule.

 

What is your favorite way to exercise?
Deadlifts, it used to be my weakest lift and has taken a lot of time and effort cleaning up form.

 

 

"Be patient and stop thinking about what others think of you. Be yourself."

 
 
If money was no object, what would your ideal day look like?
I’m pretty simple so an ideal day would be taking my time in the morning to eat breakfast and then hit the gym to train and train people. Maybe go to the driving range or whatever other hobby I feel like doing. To end the night I would enjoy a dinner at a fancy steakhouse.

 
What is your favorite meal, healthy or not so healthy?

Steak and potatoes with grilled onions.

What is on your fitness playlist?
It all depends on my mood, if I am not maxing out I love having country music, classic rock or 90’s music on. When it’s a heavy lift I usually go towards EDM or heavy metal.

 
 

What is your favorite Purus Labs stack, and how do you use it?
My current stack is ConDense, D-Pol, Citrulline Malate, Everyday Amino and MyoWhey. I have a scoop of aminos in the morning and sip on it throughout the day. I will also have 1-2 protein shakes a day all depending on how much food I am eating that day.

Is there anything else you would like to tell the world about yourself?
Nothing about me, but no matter what your goals are, be patient, nothing will happen overnight. Think about the long term game and I’m sure you'll grow faster than ever.

 

Follow Matt on Instagram!

Follow Matt on Instagram!

You have successfully subscribed!
Discount Code Copied

Your Promo Code will expire with in minssecs x